Skip to main content

How do I hold or suspend a contract?

This article shows you how to hold or suspend a contract indefinitely, decide whether to suspend payments, and apply or waive a freeze fee

If you want to cancel a membership permanently, you should first look at the article canceling membership.

Before you start

You need access to the Member’s profile and permission to manage memberships or services.

Freeze fees are available only for gyms using Adyen when the freeze-fee feature is enabled.

How to suspend a contract

After accessing their profile, go to the "membership" tab:

Click on "Suspend contract"

You will then get different options:

Choose whether to suspend payments

The suspension screen provides different payment options.

Suspend payments

When you select Suspend Payments, the regular payment schedule is adjusted according to the freeze period. On the reactivation date, the schedule is updated depending on the chosen options.

If freeze fees are enabled for your gym, the relevant freeze-fee field is displayed:

  • Membership freeze fee for a membership.

  • Service freeze fee for a service.

The field is automatically filled with the default amount configured for your gym. You can modify the amount for the current freeze without changing the default configured in your gym settings.

Enter $0 if you want to waive the freeze fee for this specific freeze.

The freeze fee is applied according to the regular billing cadence. The fee will be charged separately from the regular membership or service payment.

Do not suspend payments

When you choose not to suspend payments, the payment dates are not adjusted because of the freeze.

No freeze fee is applied when payments are not suspended.

Choose how the membership or service end date is handled

Two options are available :

  • Adjust the end date with the number of suspended days for the membership:
    Allows the contract to be suspended and the system to automatically calculate and readjust the number of day (s) in stoppage.

  • Don't adjust the end date for the membership:
    The membership length will not be changed while the suspension is programmed.

What happens after confirmation?

After the freeze is successfully confirmed:

  • The freeze is saved for the membership or service.

  • The selected freeze-fee amount is saved for that specific freeze.

  • The gym-level default freeze fee remains unchanged.

  • The Member receives a confirmation email in their language, ONLY if a freeze fee will be charged

  • The confirmation email includes:

    • Membership or service name.

    • Freeze start date.

    • Reactivation date, when applicable.

    • Total freeze fee.
      ​

How to identify an active freeze

When the membership or service is actively frozen, its status displays Currently on freeze.

Select or hover over the information icon next to the status to view the available freeze details, including:

  • Reactivation date.

  • Freeze fee per billing cycle.

  • No freeze fee when the fee is $0.

The same freeze information is available in the membership or service details.

Important notes about freeze fees

  • The default freeze fee is configured separately for memberships and services, in gym settings, including labels and taxes.

  • Changing the amount during one freeze does not change the gym-level default.

  • Entering $0 waives the freeze fee for the current freeze.

Did this answer your question?